Tarte Festival Sale Haul + Review

Tarte Festival Sale Haul + Review

IMG_20170412_210231This week I received my Tarte Cosmetics order from the 30% off Festival Sale. I have taken the past few days to test the products out, so that I can give you a review. First of all, let’s start by talking about how amazing and cute Tarte’s packaging is! The unicorn paper won me over! I also love how the card in every order has a motivational saying! Here are the goodies that I picked up:

  • Tarte Tarteist Pro eyeshadow palette
  • Rainforest Of The Sea Colour Splash Lipstick in Set Sail
  • Tarte Shape Tape Concealer in Light Neutral (This wasn’t part of the 30% off, but I thought it would be a good time to stock up)

IMG_20170413_221946

I ended up getting a free gift with my purchase. It is the Tarteist Lip Crayon in the shade Squad. This was a nice little add on, and it just so happens to be the perfect shade for the lipstick that I ordered.

1. Tarte Tarteist Pro Eyeshadow Palette

IMG_20170413_222933

IMG_20170413_152736191
First 2 rows of the mattes: left to right: Classic, Innocent, Whimsy, Smoked, Vintage, Fierce, Nofilter, Vamp

This palette is beautiful! I was stunned when I opened it up and saw how luxurious the packaging is! I have almost bought this palette on multiple occasions, but just never took the plunge because of the mixed reviews it had. It is also quite pricey, which also made me steer away. It retails for $69 CAD ($53 USD). When I found out this was part of the 30% off sale, I didn’t hesitate at all. Now, I wish I had of got it sooner. The palette contains 16 Matte shades and 4 duo-chrome metallic shades.

IMG_20170413_153515506
Last 2 rows of mattes: left to right: Chic, Profesh, Mod, Drama, Indie, Bold, Edgy, Punk

The shade range is really good. You have your neutrals, purples, taupes, and a few pops of colour. There are so many looks that you can create with this palette.

IMG_20170413_152113816
Metallics: Top to Bottom: Ethereal, Glam, Minx, Trendy

 

 

 

The shadows are so incredibly buttery and pigmented. There is quite a bit of kickback when you put your brush in the pan, but that doesn’t bother me personally. There are only 4 out of the 20 shades that felt a bit different. These ones are not as smooth, but they still pack a punch. They are:

IMG_20170414_213151

  • Smoked
  • Mod
  • Drama
  • Punk

I was very impressed with how they performed on the eyes. I created the following look using this palette.

  • Classic: Used to set eyeshadow primer and to highlight the brow bone
  • Chic & Fierce: Transition shades
  • No Filter, Mod, Drama & Vamp: Mixed together to deepen the crease
  • Tarte Shape Tape concealer: Used to carve out the crease
  • Glam: All over the lid & inner corners

The shadows blend out like a dream! It is so easy to create a seamless gradient. Normally I spend forever blending, but these don’t take long at all. There are 2 downfalls to the performance of these shadows:

  • Quite a bit of fallout
  • The metallic shade Glam didn’t show up or stick to the lid until I sprayed my brush with my Urban Decay All Nighter Setting Spray

Overall, I think this is a great palette to get your hands on! I know that I will be using this a lot! I am looking forward to playing with the vibrant duo chrome blue shade next.

2. Rainforest Of The Sea Color Splash Lipstick In Set Sail

IMG_20170414_223759

The packaging of this lipstick is so gorgeous! Turquoise is my favourite colour, so I obviously had to get it! Set Sail is a beautiful deep, dusty pink-mauve. I am very picky when it comes to lipstick formulas because my lips are dry all year round. This lipstick is hands down the most moisturizing one that I have ever tried!                IMG_20170413_222831I definitely want to pick up more shades. It applies very evenly and pigmented. It isn’t streaky or sheer. I would say that it is a satin finish. It definitely is not transfer proof in case anyone was wondering. The scent just smells like your regular lipstick, but it isn’t strong. I haven’t been able to put it to the all-day wear test just yet, but from the way it applies I feel like you may need to re-apply it a few times throughout the day. Retails for $27 CAD ($21 USD)

3. Tarte Shape Tape Concealer

836
Picture retrieved from tartecosmetics.com

This concealer is hands down my all time favourite! I have been using this concealer everyday for the past few months, and it has never let me down. It covers up all of my pimples and under-eye dark circles. The best part is the fact that it does not crease on me. I use the shade fair neutral, but I just ordered light neutral to get ready for the summer. This concealer is the only one that has ever lasted all day on my combination-oily skin. Today, I used it to cut out the crease in my eye look. It did a great job and made the perfect tacky base for the metallic eyeshadow to stick to. I make sure that I have at least 2 of these in my drawer at all times so that I don’t run out! Retails for $31 CAD ($25 USD)

 

4. Tarteist Lip Crayon In Squad

IMG_20170413_222902I was super excited to try this lip liner out because based off of the other Tarte products, I had high hopes. It was also a freebie with my purchase. I’m not sure if it was a coincidence or not, but they sent a shade that was the perfect match for the lipstick that I bought. I did not like this at all! It didn’t glide on smooth, it tugged at my lips, and the end kept breaking off. It was a very frustrating application. After 10 minutes of wear time, it started to feather like crazy! I don’t think that I will be using this again. At least it was a freebie! This lip liner retails for $22 CAD ($18 USD)

That wraps up my Tarte Festival Haul & Review. I hope that you found these reviews helpful. Once again, thank you for all of your love and support!

-xo. Elizabeth

 

5 thoughts on “Tarte Festival Sale Haul + Review

Leave a Reply

